14th Annual Jefferson Awards

The 2018 Jefferson Awards Foundation is Now Accepting Nominations!

Being nominated for the Jefferson Awards is truly an honor.

We are looking for Wyoming people who make a difference, individuals who have made Wyoming, and the world, a better place.

It is a wonderful avenue to acknowledge the many hours of volunteerism given daily across our great state. So, who’s making a difference in your community? Help us honor the many volunteers in your area.

For the 14th consecutive year KCWY-TV is proud to present the Jefferson Awards, the Nobel Prize for Volunteerism.

The Awards began 46 years ago, in 1972, created by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Robert Taft, Jr., to honor and reward community volunteers and to promote an increase in community volunteer efforts.

In December each year we begin asking our viewers to nominate people who exemplify the finest in community volunteer efforts. This year we look forward to receiving many outstanding nominations from throughout the state.

A panel of five judges will independently score each of the nominations, and four individuals will be chosen to receive the coveted Jefferson Award Medallion.

The profiles of the top four Wyoming nominees will then be sent to a panel at the Jefferson Awards Foundation Headquarters in Wilmington, Delaware. There, one will nominee be chosen to represent the state of Wyoming during a special Congressional reception to be held in our nation’s capital in June.

This representative and their guest will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. for the events. In early May of 2018, we will honor the four Wyoming Medallion Recipients and all of this year’s nominees, and their nominators during a luncheon ceremony in Casper, where our 2018 Wyoming Jefferson Award National Representative will be announced.

No award for public service in Wyoming carries greater honor and reverence than the nationally recognized Jefferson Awards. News 13 and our Jefferson Awards Partners, Serve Wyoming and Reliant Federal Credit Union are proud to present this most significant award.
To Nominate A Volunteer: Submit nominations online.

The link for the Jefferson Awards can be found on the following websites: www.servewyoming.org www.kcwy13.com. and www.reliantfcu.com or at the link to the right of your screen:

The deadline for accepting nominations is midnight February 14th, 2018.

The nominating essay should begin with the following sentence: "This individual is nominated for a 2018 Jefferson Award because..."

Your essay should include the following information:
1.) How has this nominee has impacted the community?

2.) Inform your readers about the number of years this nominee has given of his or her time and resources to help the community. Please include all the years the person has helped the community even if their nomination focuses on a specific project.

3.) What makes this individual deserving of a Jefferson Award?

4.) List the names and contact numbers for references who can verify or give additional information on the individual’s activities.